American Burying Beetle

I found this beautiful beetle in my kitchen. I covered it with a glass, studied it and then looked it up.
It looks like an American Burying Beetle,  Nicrophorus americanus,  an endangered species that years ago lived in 35 states in the USA.
Today there are only two places on earth where it is found:  Oklahoma and Block Island, a tiny island off  Rhode Island.   Rhode Island is the smallest state in the USA. It is about the size of a US city.
Guess where I live?  I live on an island in Rhode Island, but not Block Island. 
I sent the cell phone photo to my personal entomologist (everyone should have one) and he concluded that my beetle is very similar, but more likely a different species:

 Nicrophorus vespilloides,   not   Nicrophorus americanus.

I let the beetle go.

Leave a Reply

